christian · life · misconceptions · mistakes · mom · solutions · struggles

If you make a mistake, you’re a terrible mother

mistake


As a mother we are born to love, and take care of our children. We have mother ‘intuition’ and have obligations as we are responsible for this precious cargo the Lord has blessed us with raising. The problem is.. as a mother, we too are human, we are going to make mistakes. Personally, you will feel defeated when you do make a mistake and you don’t need the opinions of others tearing you down. We have all felt this many times, scolded from our own mother or mother-in-law, the strange lady in Walmart eying our every move as we are strolling our cart with a wild toddler hanging out of it and a son who is dragging his feet (whining about having to shop) causing us stress, therefore altering our ability to think.

This morning I made a huge mistake. I decided to get a shower (I decided it may be a good idea since the hubs has been making comments about whether I am going to take one or not) before my little and I went to the park for our weekly small group. I sat her in my bed with a cup of milk and MMC (Mickey Mouse Clubhouse). I was in the shower for less than 10 mins. When I got out she was eating my vitamins. I panicked, and really couldn’t figure out how she got to them (she had to climb and open a “child proof” container).

I called the poison control immediately. After they assured me she would be fine, I called my mom (my best friend) and she immediately responded with an “I told you so” attitude. I felt like the worst mom ever. It got me thinking though, we are human, we make mistakes. We just have to pray that they are not detrimental mistakes.

Despite how conquered, stressed, and defeated you feel I want you to know, you’re not alone! Being a mother is the scariest, most rewarding job you will ever do.

So here is a few ways you can move forward after making a mistake:

  • Pray, always pray first“Thank you God for protecting my child from a mistake that I made.”
  • Humble yourself. This one is hard, but it is always better to admit the mistake that you made and move forward. (I know that is SO much easier said than done when you have others constantly bringing it up)
  • Learn from the small mistakes, don’t beat yourself up over it. You’re not perfect, and neither is the person giving you grief.
  • Remember everything happens for a reason, whether it be (like me this morning) to learn that you are so distracted with the stress of life, or that you are naive (again, like me) to the fact that your toddler is smart, curious, and observant – you’re not a terrible mother.

God picked you to be their mother –  your book is not being written, it is being read!

“We all stumble in many ways. Anyone who is never at fault in what they say is perfect, able to keep their whole body in check.” James 3:2

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged.” Matthew 7:1

•Please leave advice, questions, and things you’d like to hear about in the comments section below•


 

One thought on “If you make a mistake, you’re a terrible mother

Leave a Reply

