christian · life · misconceptions · mistakes · solutions · struggles

lost and found

8b25df77-6d08-4587-a259-d276c1ae9f1d_zpsesp57dls


“I am not worthy of God’s love. I need to get my life together before I try to follow Jesus.”

“Christian’s are all perfect, I wouldn’t fit in.”


Let me start this off by saying, these statements are the furthest thing from the truth.

Listen, we are all in the same boat, no one is perfect. We are all sinners, I mean it’s human nature. And those of us already attending church and following Jesus just got to the “hospital” before those that aren’t. Everyone has a past, and everyone makes mistakes. We all have a purpose here, which is to reach the lost so they can be found. This world is not our home, we are simply passing through and God wants us all with Him in our forever home.


The church does not exist for us, we are the church and we exist for the world.


There are so many misconceptions about Jesus, being a christian, becoming a christian, or even of christians in general. I could write on this subject for the next 500 post, but I won’t do that. I am going to make this as short, sweet and to the point as I can.

A few of the many misconceptions I have heard recently:

  • I have done too many bad things in my life for Jesus to want anything to do with me. There is nothing that you have done that the blood of Jesus can’t redeem. Don’t choose to die for your own sins, choose Jesus.
  • Christians will try to put the bible down my throat. Some Christians may, but thats only because they are SO excited to share the good news with you. The good news that saved them, that they know can save you as well. Now, some may not because they understand that it takes time.
  • Christians are perfect and will judge me even though they say they won’t. Christians who truly have a relationship with Jesus will NOT judge you, it’s not our place. Most of the time it’s our own criticism of ourselves causing us to feel unworthy and we think everyone else sees us that way. In these circumstances replace this lie of the enemy with truth and remember who you are in the image of God. Plus who cares what others think, God knows your heart.

 

Godly inspiration requires collaboration which can’t happen in isolation.

God came from Heaven down to earth, to carry the weight of every sin that you have and will perform. He knows that we are not perfect. Yet, still loves us unconditionally.

He wants us to live this life in freedom.

“I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” John 10:10


So how do we do that?

  1. Know God. Figure out who God is, pray to him, and read His word (I am personally obsessed with my bible, but if you are not the ‘open your bible and read type’ I love this devotion). God wants to know you intimately. He says in Matthew 7:21-23: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord’, will enter the kingdom of Heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in Heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord’, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you.'” This is why my answer to everything is pray first. Pray first and form a personal relationship with Jesus. Everyone prays differently, some kneel, some pace, others lift there hands in the air (I personally like to picture Jesus face to face with my hands open). Find a way that works best for you, Jesus, and your relationship with Him.
  2. Find freedom. Get involved in a church. Once you feel comfortable in that church, get involved with others and connect with them. Go to small groups, bible studies, events, etc. Once you are comfortable around the people you have formed relationships with you will begin to connect, protect, and grow together. Proverbs 27:17 says “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” We need others in our lives to cheer us on when the enemy attacks. James 5:16 states “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.” Clearly our God is a relational God. Finding freedom comes from allowing yourself to acknowledge your past but not dwell in it. Confessing your sins to ‘your people’ and praying for each other is where we begin to be healed and find freedom.
  3. Discover your purpose. God created each of us with different gifts and talents. There is hope attached to your calling! Our purpose on this earth is to reach the lost and bring them home. This is NOT our home. We are just passing through, so keep your eyes set on heaven. God blessed you with certain abilities for you to be able to reach certain people. We all have something to give to others to show them Gods love through our actions.
  4. Make a difference. Put it to the test, use your talents and gifts for Him. Be involved intentionally. “God has given each of you a gift from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Use them well to serve one another.” 1Peter 4:10

You can try to earn Gods approval or you can receive Gods love for you.


The choice is yours, but there is never a place that God can’t rescue you from.

Remember: Real Christianity is about relationship, not religion.

Leave a Reply

