anxiety · christian · depression · happiness · life · mental health · misconceptions · mom · solutions · struggles · Uncategorized

Overcoming depression/anxiety

f5442264-a88e-4f43-a88d-5282a1848e6a_zps4alegmyo 2 Corinthians 1:4 “He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.”

I believe that God is using one of the toughest times in my life to comfort someone who may be in the same dark place I found myself.

When we become mothers, we naturally become more cautious due to the responsibility of your heart that is wondering around outside of your body. Cautious is healthy, but allowing your anxiety to consume you is not.

I held myself together all the way up until my son was getting ready to enter kindergarten. At this time (I’m sure most of you remember) there was a school shooting, Sandy Hooks. Most people were saddened by this traumatic event. They prayed for the families and moved on. Not me. It consumed my every thought. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat, I literally made myself physically sick thinking about it and didn’t leave my house for a full week.

My doctor put me on anti-depressants. They made it worse. They actually formed thoughts in my head. Thoughts of things I would have NEVER thought about, thoughts that scared me. This was the darkest place I have ever been, in my life. I thought I was absolutely crazy and I had no idea how to fix myself (this was my problem, I was trying to fix myself and not allowing God to fix me). I was constantly in a fog. They took me off of them immediately and I refused to be put on anything else because of how those medicines made me feel. You see, the misconception here is that to overcome depression/anxiety you must take anti-depressants.


I felt helpless, and so beat down. No one understood.


I was in the shower one night and just sat down and began to cry out to God. I said ” I can NOT do this without you, I NEED you Jesus.” That conversation changed my life completely. I overcame my mind by choosing to allow Gods word to replace the thoughts the enemy had repeated to me so many times to the point I believed them.


God pulled me from my darkest place and brought me into His light.


Here is how:

  • Pray first: Allow Jesus to fix you, don’t try to fix yourself. Give it to Him. God is bigger than any struggle you face, remember that!
  • Vitamins: This is something that my mom (she is a nurse and was tired of her baby feeling the way that I did) researched and made the decision to put me on. There are certain vitamins that you can take together that will help you to overcome your depressions/anxiety. I have tested this on not only myself, but many friends and family and have had nothing but successful stories. I am going to share this with the world in an effort to help others not find themselves in that dark place. Fish oilB6PrenatalB12D3, and Super b complex once daily was the recipe for success in overcoming this battle. Honestly, these two steps I have just listed is all you need, but the next two just stepped it up to another level (and I have since slacked on these next two tremendously).
  • Exercise: If it is hard for you to find time to do this, I totally understand. I had the same problem, but I made time. I would run for 30 minutes on my lunch break. All it takes is 30 minutes at least 3 times a week.
  • Eating healthier: This was probably the hardest step for me. I do not eat healthy(period). So, I would just watch my intake of sweets and greasy foods. Watch it meaning… I would have it once a day verses all day. I slowly got better at incorporating healthy into my day.

If your depression/anxiety is like mine was, you can’t overcome it on your own.

But God can, trust in Him.


You’ll never know God is all you need, until God is all you have!


(Isaiah 60:1-3) “Arise, Shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the LORD rises upon you. See, darkness covers the earth and thick darkness is over the peoples, but the LORD rises upon you and His glory appears over you. Nations will come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your dawn.”

Leave a Reply

