Uncategorized

#21 days of prayer and fasting

It is a new year, a fresh start, another chapter to venture into. Some of you may have a resolution list, others may have decided that resolutions don’t quite work. I have had many failed attempts to keep resolutions in the past which is why I have changed the whole dynamic of January for myself and my family. We now start our years off with Jesus. We put him first by joining our church in 21 days of prayer and fasting. We work on our resolutions from the inside out. If Jesus isn’t first in our lives then he isn’t in it. He modeled how he wanted to be treated when he sent us his first and only son. So, I plan to give him my first. I plan to give him my first of every year, month, week, and day.


“Even now,” declares the Lord, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting and weeping, and mourning.” Joel 2:12


So, with that being said I wanted to go over some of the misconceptions that I had of fasting:

  1. I will fast something that is super easy so that I won’t fail. This kind of defeats the purpose of fasting. You see, fasting isn’t suppose to be easy. It is suppose to be somewhat of a challenge in order for you to rely on God and not the thing you have given up.
  2. “Yes, I’ll fast I need to lose some weight!” Again, you’re missing the point. This is not about your self image, it is about the experience you are going to have with Jesus.

If you aren’t familiar with fasting, I will give your my short version or you can go to my  church resources for more information.

Fasting is something that you have to pray about and see where Jesus leads you. There are many different types of fast. There is complete, partial, selective, and soul fast.

So I invite you to join me in putting Jesus first. Start by thanking him each and every morning before you do anything else.

Put Him first.

Leave a Reply

